top of page

DIY Festive Doormat for Less than $10- No Cricut Required!


You have probably seen these adorable doormats trending all of Pinterest and Instagram. I was swooning over them for months before it dawned on me that I could so DIY one! I've cracked the code and I'm so excited to share! Watch the video tutorial here:

Here's what you'll need:

The first thing you will need to do is make a template. You are welcome to use mine provided below. You will just need to resize it to fit perfectly on your mat.

The best part about this tutorial is that you can make any design that you like with any font, size or color! Once you have your design, printed to size (I had to split the word pumpkin because it was too big into 2 pages and tape them together), you will trace it onto the clear poster paper using an ultra thin sharpie. Then use your exacto (or utility) knife to carefully cut out the lettering. This will create the stencil. Be careful to keep the inside letter pieces (the R and P's).

After your stencil is made, use duct tape to stick it in place to the mat. I rolled up tiny pieces of duct tape to stick on the inside of the R and p's. Then using a round stencil paintbrush or a foam paintbrush, dab the paint over the stencil.

Viola! You've got yourself a festive doormat for under $10! And you now have a stencil that is reusable!

bottom of page