top of page

Paper Flower Tutorial

I decided to throw my bestie a baby shower. She said that since it was her third baby, she didn't need anything fancy. I said, "Yeah, I hear you, totally. I probably won't even decorate. It'll be no big deal." If you know me, you know that that was never going to happen! Late night pinteresting led me to some very cute baby shower backdrops using paper flowers so, I thought I'd try my hand at it!

The cost for this party (minus the food) was $39! It was have been less but I splurged on the cute baby napkins! Here is a list of the items that I purchased for this party.

Tablecloth- Walmart $1

Pink Card Stock Pack- Michael's $3.33

Extra Scrapbook Paper (Triangle Banner)- Michael's $.69

Gold Tassel Banner- Michael's $5.99

Extra Tissue Paper- Michael's $2.40 (with 40% off coupon)

Pink & Gold Plates- Walmart $1 each

Pink Cups- Dollar Tree $1

Letter Balloons- Amazon $7.99 Link here

Baby Napkins- Amazon $12.99 Link here

Glue Dots (to hang balloons & flowers)- Dollar Tree $1

There are many tutorials out there on how to make paper flowers but I thought I'd share with you my own simplified version!

Supplies:

8.5"x 11" Card Stock pack (About 9-12 sheets per flower)

Pencil

Scissors

Glue Gun & Sticks

1/2"- 1" Round item (Such as a marker)

1. Cut the card stock in half leaving you with 5.5"x 8.5" pieces.

2. Trace a flower pedal which fills the entire half sheet of paper. Make the base of the pedal about 3 inch wide. (Some bloggers will have you buy a template at this point in the tutorial... I am fairly confident that my 4 year old son could draw flower pedals so I'm gonna say you can too!)

- You will need between 3-6 different sizes of pedals. (3 different sizes is much easier but 6 makes a more full flower.)

- This shape ended up being my favorite but you can shape the pedals however you would like!

3. Cut the pedals. You will need 6 of each size. FYI, I can cut 3 layers of card stock at a time.

4. Cut a slit about 2-3" in the middle bottom of each pedal (as pictured).

5. Roll the ends of the pedals on a 1 inch round item. I used a marker.

6. Squeeze a small line of hot glue on the left side of the slit made at the bottom of the pedal. Overlap the right side of the slit over the hot glue about a 1/2 inch and hold in place until the glue dries. (The more you over lap, the more upright the pedal will sit. If you want a flatter flower, overlap less)

7. Glue the pedals together in a circle.

8. Glue the smaller circles of pedals into the larger circles of pedals until your flower is complete.

9. To make the leaves, I spray painted some textured paper that I already had, gold and followed this tutorial.

Follow this link to see an another version of the center of the flower!

We had the baby shower at 10:30 AM and served breakfast foods and desserts. I made a breakfast tater tot casserole that is ALWAYS a huge hit!

Tater tot Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients

1 box of frozen cooked sausage links

2 cups shredded cheese

2 cups milk

4 eggs

32 oz. bag of tater tots (I don't use the entire bag)

Directions:

1. Microwave the sausage links according to box directions ( it should be about 2 minutes for all 10 links.)

2. Chop sausage into 1/2" pieces and place in the bottom of a greased 9"x 11" glass pan.

3. Sprinkle 2 cups of cheese over the sausage.

4. Mix milk with eggs. Pour mixture over the cheese.

5. Top with tater tots.

6. Bake for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees.

I also made covered pretzel rods. I used pink vanilla melts and gold sprinkles purchased at Michael's. Michael's also had an adorable onesie cookie cuter for $1 that I couldn't resist! I put the cookies in bags and gave them to the guests as they left!

bottom of page